The Winner – and Other Things I’m Up To

I’ll be honest: I was leaning towards the Shanty-2-Chic table design. And apparently I was amongst friends as the poll from the Table 2.0 post agrees with me. I found additional plans that used 2x4s versus the chunkier 4x4s, but after seeing some reader’s tables on other blogs I’m in love with the bulkier design. Check out the stain and matching bench I found over at Red Hen Home – she achieved this by mixing a walnut with an ebony (our current table is straight ebony) and it looks fantastic.

Red Hen House Truss Table and Bench

I’ve also started working on a new headboard for our bedroom. Collecting all the supplies was quite a bit of effort, so I didn’t have enough time to put it together before I had to come back to work. I did end up getting a Fabricland membership though, so who knows what trouble that will get me into! I’ve been eyeing a pillowcase design from Delia Creates, but we’ll save that post for another day when there are fewer projects on the go.

Back to the headboard though. I found these plans while perusing Pinterest one morning. The plan is from Sarah M Dorsey Designs. I’m finding it a little bit difficult to follow, but one it’s finished I’ll throw in my two cents about how to build your own. My fabric is a medium weight charcoal coloured denim blend but the nail heads are still up for debate. Once everything else is done I’ll see if bronze, silver or gold look best – or maybe none at all! And of course some coordinating bedside tables. DIY is like the story “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie”… the projects are never ending!

What are your thoughts on the nail heads? A metal colour? Something original or bright? Our bedspread is this Urban Barn mustard yellow lattice print, so perhaps something white or black?

 

This entry was published on November 5, 2013 at 7:22 pm. It’s filed under DIY Projects, Furniture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “The Winner – and Other Things I’m Up To

  1. Tiffany on said:

    I’m personally not a fan of the nail heads. I like the focus to be on the fabric and I know that if I don’t get them perfectly aligned it will drive me nuts.

Leave a Reply

